top of page

Mission Statement

The Monroe County Soil & Water Conservation District's mission is to assist in informing, educating and implementing on-the-ground soil conservation and water quality practices in partnership with the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, the Natural Resources Conservation Service, Farm Service Agency, landowners, operators and other local entitles.

2024 SWCD Commissioners

James Nelson - Chair 

Robert ScottVice Chair/CoTreasurer

 Joe Pyle - Treasurer

Donald Niebuhr

Marvin Wirtjes - Bank Statement Recipient

*Diana Williams - Secretary

Assistant Commissioner

District Personnel


Diana Williams - Conservation Assistant

Ronald PetersonSoil Conservation Technician

Federal USDA-NRCS Staff

Suzy Flattery - District Conservationist

News & Events


Technical Assistant Grant Position

The Monroe County Soil and Water Conservation District has a full-time temporary Technical Assistant position available. The qualified applicant would assist with USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service and Iowa Department of Agriculture & Land Stewardship programs. Job duties include, but are not limited to, contacting & meeting with participants to gather information/documentation, conservation planning, technical field work and environmental evaluations. Studies with an agricultural emphasis would be beneficial. Hourly rate starting at $21 per hour. IPERS retirement, vacation and sick leave accrual. No other benefits offered. Send resume with references to, Monroe County Soil & Water Conservation District, USDA-NRCS, 1701 South B Street, Suite 100, Albia, Iowa 52531 or e-mail to

by 4:00 PM May 20th, 2024

The Monroe County Soil and Water Conservation District is an Equal Opportunity Employer & Provider 

New Sale

Contact Us

Monroe SWCD Office


8a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday


1701 South B Street, Suite 100

Albia, IA 52531


(641) 932-5144 ext. 3


(855) 223-7138

USDA Office

Local Weather

Monroe County Farm Bureau logo
IDALS logo
Ceadr Creek WMA logo
USDA logo

**Website development funded by Monroe County Farm Bureau

bottom of page